Alun Wyn Jones BBC Sports Personality of the Year: Nominees, odds, TV schedule & past winners

Alun Wyn Jones These modules are magnificent!

No footballer has won the award since Manchester United’s Ryan Giggs in 2009, but Manchester City’s Raheem Sterling is in the final six

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award 2019 will take place on Sunday, December 15, with Manchester City and England forward Raheem Sterling named on the six-person shortlist.

After securing an unprecedented domestic treble with Man City and helping England qualify for Euro 2020, Sterling is up for the award a week after his 25th birthday.

However, he faces competition from some of the biggest names in Formula 1, cricket, rugby union and athletics if he is to take the trophy won last year by cyclist Geraint Thomas.

Editors’ Picks

  • Wantaway Pogba causing no issues at Man Utd as Solskjaer gets ready to reintegrate World Cup winner
  • Unleash Foden! Guardiola can’t hold back Man City star any longer
  • Solskjaer’s Ferguson tribute act will only take Man Utd so far
  • How McTominay has allowed Man Utd to win again

There are further awards to be given out at the ceremony, with interest for Liverpool, England women and the U.S. women’s national team.

  1. What is the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award?
  2. When is the awards ceremony & how do I watch it?
  3. Who is nominated for Sports Personality of the Year?
  4. Who are the favourites to win the main award?
  5. Which footballers are nominated in the other awards?
  6. Which footballers have won Sports Personality of the Year in the past?

Alun Wyn JonesWhat is the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award?

The BBC Sports Personality Award honours a British athlete chosen by a public vote on which member of the shortlist has achieved the most in the last year.

Alun Wyn JonesWhen is SPOTY and how do I watch it?

The BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award 2019 is set to be handed out onSunday, December 15.

The awards show, scheduled to last two hours,begins at 7pm GMT / 2pm ET,and islive on BBC One and the BBC iPlayer.

Alun Wyn Jones Raheem Sterling England Montenegro 2019

The programme will also be available on the BBC Sport website.

Alun Wyn JonesWho is nominated for this year’s SPOTY?

Raheem Sterlingis the only footballer on the six-person shortlist, following another sensational year under Pep Guardiola at Man City.

He racked up 25 goals and 18 assists in all competitions as City won the Premier League, FA Cup and Carabao Cup, as well as the Community Shield.

Sterling also scored eight goals in nine appearances for England as Gareth Southgate’s side booked their place at Euro 2020, with Sterling already being named Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year.

The heavy favourite to win this award, however, isDurham and England cricketer Ben Stokes.

New Zealand-born Stokes, 28, enjoyed a sensational summer, the key man for his country as England won the Cricket World Cup for the first time and drew a memorable Ashes series with Australia.

Alun Wyn Jones Ben Stokes 2019

Sprinter Dina Asher-Smithis also tipped by many to win, having set a British record in winning 200 metres gold at the World Athletics Championships.

Asher-Smith became the first British woman to win a global sprint title, and also set the British record in claimi

I be mad for addons, because they are the huge!!

Read full article at the Original Source

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the Linked Source