Alun Wyn Jones Springboks named World Rugby Team of the Year

Alun Wyn Jones This is another clever module!

Pretoria News /  / 

Alun Wyn Jones

South African captain Siya Kolisi holds the Webb Ellis Cup aloft together with President Cyril Ramaphosa after the Boks’ punishing victory over England in the Rugby World Cup final thriller at the International Yokohama Stadium in Yokohama, Japan, on Saturday. Christophe Ena AP African News Agency (ANA)

Pretoria – It doesn’t get much more empathic than that – the Springboks, having won the Rugby World Cup on Saturday for the third time in history – were named World Rugby Team of the Year too.

And Coach Rassie Erasmus, who transformed the Boks from no-hopers in 2016 and 2017 to World Cup winners this year, scooped the Coach of the Year title.

Blindside flank Pieter-Steph du Toit ensured it was a triple for South African rugby at the annual awards evening yesterday by being named Player of the Year.

Yesterday was a triumphant day in Japan for the Boks, who a day earlier beat England 32-12 in the Rugby World Cup final to make it three wins in seven attempts. The Boks also lifted the Webb Ellis Cup in 1995 and 2007.

Erasmus pipped New Zealand’s Steve Hansen, Wales’ Warren Gatland, Japan’s Jamie Joseph and England’s Eddie Jones to the title. Du Toit was nominated alongside Tom Curry (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), Ardie Savea (New Zealand), Joe Taufete’e (US) and South Africa’s Cheslin Kolbe.

He’s also a two-time SA Rugby Player of the Year winner and joins fellow countrymen Schalk Burger (2004) and Bryan Habana (2007) as South African winners of the awar

These WordPress plugins are quite huge!!

Read full article at the Original Source

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the Linked Source