Mako Vunipola Rugby World Cup: George North’s ‘weird’ try for Wales leads to law change

Mako Vunipola This is another astonishing module.

Mako Vunipola George North scores Wales' first try against England, which World Rugby has ruled shouldn't have counted.

DAVID DAVIES/AP

George North scores Wales’ first try against England, which World Rugby has ruled shouldn’t have counted.

In the wake of George North’s controversial try against England, World Rugby has made an immediate law amendment to stipulate that a match will not be able to restart until a player leaving the field for a blood injury or a head injury assessment has been replaced.

North scored in Wales’s 13-6 win on Saturday (Sunday NZT) after Dan Biggar took a penalty as England were waiting to replace Willi Heinz.

Referee Pascal Gauzere, who had just sent England wing Anthony Watson to the sin-bin, allowed Biggar to strike a cross-field kick to Josh Adams while Heinz was making his way to the changing room and Ben Youngs was waiting on the touchline. That left England with just 13 players.

READ MORE:
Mako Vunipola declared fit for RWC
Eddie Jones: ‘Yellow card for referee’
*England bemused by ‘weird’ Wales try
*Wales knock All Blacks off No 1 spot

On the following phase, Biggar struck another cross-field kick to North, who collected to score his 40th test try in the 34th minute. Biggar converted and the seven points eventually pr

This is the astonishing component ever%sentence_ending

Read full article at the Original Source

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the Linked Source