Rugby World Cup 2019: Ben Youngs questions how Wales were allowed to score controversial try against England

This is another fancy WordPress plugin!

Ben Youngs has questioned why Wales were allowed to take a quick penalty before he was allowed on the pitch during England’s 13-6 defeat on Saturday, with the home side taking full advantage of their opponents’ reduction to 13 men to score the only try of the match.

Wales caught England out when Anthony Watson was given a yellow card by referee Pascal Gauzere for a deliberate knock-on, which coincided with scrum-half Willi Heinz leaving the field for a Head Injury Assessment (HIA).

It momentarily left England down to 13, with Gauzere blowing his whistle to restart the game while Watson was still making his way off the pitch and Heinz was heading down the tunnel. Replacement scrum-half Youngs appeared ready to come on to replace Heinz, but before he was allowed to Wales fly-half Dan Biggar took a quick penalty and launched a cross-field kick to Josh Adams, which resulted in opposite wing George North going over for the try seconds later.

We’ll tell you what’s true. You can form your own view.

From
15p
€0.18
$0.18
USD 0.27
a day, more exclusives, analysis and extras.

England head coach Eddie Jones refused to criticise the officials after the match for the incident, but while Youngs was in agreement that the players must learn from it to remain alert at all times, he questioned why Wales were allowed to play on so quickly when he was later stopped from doing the same.

“Being down to 13 men is never ideal,” Youngs said. “Ant [Watson] came off and then the boys are in a huddle. Then Willi has come off and I’m waiting to be given the green light to go on.

left
Created with Sketch.





















right
Created with Sketch.










Meet this helpful item!

Read full article at the Original Source

Copyright for syndicated content belongs to the Linked Source